Uglich: Time Travel
According to legend, Uglich was founded about 937 by one of the warlords of Prince Igor.
Three hypotheses are associated with the origin of the name: from the word "coal" – in this place in antiquity, coal burned out; "Corner" – the city is located on the Cape, who is going to the Volga, and was called earlier coal or Uglich; "Oitsy" – one of the Slavic tribes.
WITH Uglich Krasmam The most important events of Russian history are connected. Once here is tragic ended the board of the Rurikovsky dynasty. And now the journey begins in time.
By the XXI century, only an island remained from powerful fortifications, where the edges of the Volga shore, among the trees of the ancient park, are tested by temples and buildings of the Kremlin ensemble, constituting the center of the Volga Panorama of Uglich.
Pearl of the Uglich Kremlin – Transfiguration Cathedral With the bell tower on which you can get up to look around the surroundings: from here there is a stunning view of the Volga. Built the temple was in 1706 to indicate Peter I. This is the main cathedral of the city, which is known, including a copy of the legendary Vatican painting of Rafael "Transfiguration".
Bright red facade stands out Church of Tsarevich Dimitria on blood 1692. She was erected on the spot of the death of the juvenile son of Ivan the Terrible and spectacularly crowned Kremlin Cape.
One of the most amazing parts of the Kremlin ensemble – built in the 1480s Chamber of Palace Specific Princes With a beautiful openwork front staircase-porch. The monument is an oldest residential building in Central Russia, which has been preserved to the present day, despite the late additions. In five centuries, the cultural layer around the chambers rose to a whole meter, turning the first floor to the basement.
Uglich Unusual: Museums
Outside the Kremlin, on the picturesque shore of a stone stream, in the building of the XIX century on the Uspenskaya Square there is a gallery of modern Orthodox art "Under the gracious cover". This is an amazing space associated with the personality of Hegumen Rafail, the rector of the Church of Mikhail Archangel in Bor, lost in the forests under Uglich, and in the past of the famous Moscow artist Sergey Simakova. Here are its picturesque canvas and graphics, masterpieces of church-decorative and applied arts of the XV-XIX century and other valuable exhibits.
Across the road is located Museum of Avangard – not the most standard stop in the guidebooks of Uglich. Here collected a collection of pictures of the famous group of artists-avant-gardeists, "Twenty Moscow artists", which existed from 1977 to 1987. Through their pictures, we can look at their eyes on the history of the Latestime, dramatic, and sometimes comical, but always lively.
V Arsenal of unusual bicycles "Scooter" You can get acquainted with a 200-year history of bicycle existence. In 1817, the German Karl von Derez created the first wooden scooter, and … everything went. The rich exposition gives you the opportunity to admire the wooden beggrel, forged Kostrinas, two-wheeled and tricycles – "spiders" with bulk wheels, historical, unusual and fun bikes. The Epoch of the Soviet Industry is fully represented here, and even there is a bicycle capable of moving along the Volga.
All exhibits can be touched, and some even ride. Try to walk on the world’s largest bike or cute with a drunk bike! By the way, the museum works cycle rental and organized bicycle expensive in Uglich.
Boys necessarily look at Museum of Hydropower, the only one like in Russia. It is located near the Uglich HPP, one of the first stations of the Volga Cascade, and is not just a museum space, but a real interactive center with an unusual stereo. There you can make a 3D journey through hydroelectric station, to visit the hydraulic unit, to build your own hydroelectric power station and even "revive" the plan of Goello.
One of the most popular modern museums among tourists –Museum of Russian vodka. Near Uglich was born a famous entrepreneur P. A. Smirnov. It was here that the family business of this family began. In the exposition of the museum there are more than 1000 varieties of vodka from different countries of the world, vintage bottles and labels. And the excursion passes with the tasting of the "national" drink itself.
In the vicinity of Uglich
Uglich and places around it are famous for landscapes. From the hills overlooking the distant villages with pans of temples, wide meadows with quiet current rivers demonstrate all the beauty of the middle strip, and coniferous forests are very mysterious and beautiful. Among this natural splendor, historical villages have been preserved.
One of them – Zaozerier, The old merchant village, which, during its existence, belonged to various owners, and the most famous of them – Decembrists Odoyevsky and Volkonsky and nobles of Saltykov. By the way, it is about the Zaozerie in the "Poshekhon Starin" M. E. Saltykova-Shchedrin.
Unlike most villages, the Zaozerier has a central planning of the streets, which converge to the central square, as in Uglich. Unusual for the village and the preserved vintage street names that reflect the whole history of the place. Spit and sickles for trading in all neighboring counties were made on blacksmithful streets. Kalyazinskaya indicates trade relations with Kalyazin, Ilyinskaya leads to the village of Ilyinskoye, Uspenskaya was at the same time a magician – by owners, frogsheach – by location in the lowland, and Butyrskaya pointing to bottles – races distant from the main rural building behind the mouth. Another street with the speaking name – Robilovka. There, in the local legend, the passages of merchants were released from the property of the dashing people. (Read our material "Criminal World of Constant Russia".)
The best view of this picturesque village opens from the bell tower of the Temple of the Kazan Icon of God’s Mother, built at the beginning of the XVIII century and located in the very center of the village.
One of the brightest pages of the History of Zaozernia is associated with local merchants. The names of the Covenants were known to the entire district, and now they can be found about the Museum of Merchant Enterprise "Zaozersque Lighthouses".